Heavy Metal News – August 18, 2012

SCYTHIA Posts Teaser, Reveal EP Title, Artwork, Track Listing and Release Date

Canadian prog/folk metallers Scythia has set the title of their upcoming album to be For the Bear, due to be released on September 25. Says vocalist/guitarist Dave Khan,

Scythia is proud to present the artwork and more for our upcoming release. The artwork was painted by the talented Mika Harju of Finland, he has experience designing metal albums before and we needed something tough and harsh looking to capture the intensity of the music. As you can imagine, it probably doesn’t get much tougher than duelling barbarians from atop a bear in the dead of winter. We are also including a teaser track that gives a little prelude of the sonic intensity that accompanies this imagery.

A teaser for For the Bear is available at THIS LOCATION.

Tracklisting of For the Bear:

1. Sailor’s Accolade (03:19)
2. Fierce Riders of Scythia (remix) (3:46)
3. For The Bear (2:34)
4. Black Death (remix) (4:05)
5. Dies Irae Pt 1 (remix) (5:31)
6. Mattawa Reel (2:27)
7. Video Game Medley (5:32)

Stereokiller Hosts New Track Stream For SWALLOW THE SUN

Usher in your weekend with epic gloom of SWALLOW THE SUN’s “Labyrinth of London (Horror Pt. IV)” from their forthcoming new full-length, Emerald Forest and the Blackbird. Set for North American release on September 4, 2012 via Spinefarm Records U.S. the 10-track offering — which entered the official Finland charts at position No. 2 upon its European release — was recorded during September and October 2011 by Mikko Karmila (Nightwish, Amorphis, Children Of Bodom) and includes a guest appearance by Nightwish singer Anette Olzon (on “Cathedral Walls”).

In commenting on the track, the band, again reverencing their long-running lyrical correlations to Twin Peaks, quoted a line from the series: “Dark. Laughing. The owls were flying. Many things were blocked. Laughing. The owls were near. The dark was pressing in on her. Quiet then. Later, footsteps. One man passed by. Screams far away. Terrible, terrible. One voice.”

Hear “Labyrinth of London (Horror Pt. IV)” at THIS LOCATION.

WINTERSUN Unveils Cover Artwork For ‘Time I’

The album artwork for Finnish epic melodic death metal band Wintersun‘s long-awaited new full length album Time I can be viewed below. The artwork was created by Cameron Gray. The album will be released on October 12 via Nuclear Blast Records. Time I will be the first of two albums in the Time series of albums by Wintersun. Frontman Jari Mäenpää explains,

  • “All the 80 minutes of material won’t fit on a regular CD and we didn’t want to cut anything out.
  • “We want you to be able to hear new material sooner and not wait any longer and we want to go on tour sooner.
  • “The music is very full and complex, so listening this kind of ‘hard listening (not easy listening)’ material straight for 80 minutes is a bit too much (even for me).
  • “Both albums will be approximately. nice 40 min epic packages of fireworks.
  • “We like the idea of releasing two albums within one year, so the band will stay more visible longer, which is important in these ‘modern times.’ No more years of silence for us!”

“Time I” track listing:

01. When Time Fades Away
02. Sons Of Winter And Stars
I) Rain Of Stars
II) Surrounded By Darkness
III) Journey Inside A Dream
IV) Sons of Winter And Stars
03. Land Of Snow And Sorrow
04. Darkness And Frost
05. Time

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: