Heavy Metal News – February 06, 2014

MACHINE HEAD: ‘Killers & Kings’ Single Artwork Unveiled

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

As part of this year’s Record Store Day on April 19, San Francisco Bay Area metallers MACHINE HEAD will release a 10-inch vinyl single, with the A-side containing the “demo” version of a new song, “Killers & Kings”. The B-side will be a cover version of the track “Our Darkest Days” from one of MACHINE HEAD‘s favorite bands, IGNITE.

The cover artwork for the “Killers & Kings” single can be seen below. Also available is video footage of MACHINE HEAD members Phil Demmel (guitar), Dave McClain (drums) and Jared MacEachern (bass) laying down backing vocals on the “Our Darkest Days” cover version.

Read more at http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/machine-head-killers-kings-single-artwork-unveiled/#Opta4AKoYwoI3oPG.99


DEATH ANGEL: ‘Left For Dead’ Video Released

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

“Left For Dead”, the new video from San Francisco Bay Area metallers DEATH ANGEL, can be seen at this location. The clip was directed by Tommy Jones, who has previously worked with SOILWORK and TESTAMENT, among others.

“Left For Dead” is taken from DEATH ANGEL‘s seventh album, “The Dream Calls For Blood”, which sold 5,400 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 72 on The Billboard 200 chart.

DEATH ANGEL‘s previous CD, “Relentless Retribution”, opened with 2,700 units in September 2010. The band’s 2008 effort, “Killing Season”, registered a first-week tally of around 2,300. This number was in line with the performance of its predecessor, “The Art of Dying”, which premiered with around 2,100 copies back in May 2004.

Released on October 11, 2013 in Europe (except for the U.K. where it arrived three days later) and October 15, 2013 in North America via Nuclear Blast Records“The Dream Calls For Blood” was recorded at Audiohammer Studios in Sanford, Florida with producer Jason Suecof (TRIVIUMAUGUST BURNS REDTHE BLACK DAHLIA MURDERALL THAT REMAINSWHITECHAPELDEVILDRIVER), and once again features cover art by Brent Elliot White (JOB FOR A COWBOYCARNIFEXWHITECHAPEL).

Comments DEATH ANGEL guitarist Rob Cavestany: “[The ‘Left For Dead’ video] is comprised of footage filmed at AudioHammer Studios in Florida during the recording of the album.

“Catch a glimpse into our world in the recording studio as we create, collaborate, lay down tracks and attempt to survive the insane madness of making a DEATH ANGEL album!

“Hope you enjoy this little morsel that we proudly serve up to you as an appetizer. Catch the main course when we hit your town on tour which kicks off this Thursday! Eight weeks across North America — plenty of chances to feast upon us…

“Bon appétit and see you in the pit!”

METALLICA guitarist Kirk Hammett on “The Dream Calls For Blood”: “DEATH ANGEL have gone big yet again and delivered an album that is so incredibly fast, brutal and blister burning heavy — it’s a classic earspank, for sure! Every song is a slice of heavy metal heaven and I’m very impressed — it’s the best album I’ve heard in 2013!”

Read more at http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/death-angel-left-for-dead-video-released/#9YhCmETGUadiie3Q.99


MASSACRE: New Song ‘As We Wait To Die’ Available For Streaming

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

Resurrected 1990s Florida-based death metallers MASSACRE will release their long-awaited comeback album, “Back From Beyond”, on March 24 in Europe and April 1 in North America via Century Media Records. The CD was recorded and mixed by Tim Vazquez of CGM Studios in Altamonte Springs, Florida, and features original MASSACRE members Rick Rozz (guitar; ex-MANTAS/DEATH) and Terry Butler (bass; OBITUARY, ex-DEATH/SIX FEET UNDER), as well as Ed Webb (vocals; ex-DIABOLIC/EULOGY) and Mike Mazzonetto (drums; ex-PAIN PRINCIPLE). The cover artwork was created by Toshihiro Egawa (CRYPTOPSYKRISIUNDEVOURMENT) and can be seen below.

Comments Butler: “MASSACRE is very excited and proud of our new album, ‘Back From Beyond’.

“We’ve worked hard over the past few months and we believe that the old-school and new-school fans will be pleased.

Ed Webb and Mikey Mazzanetto are great additions to the band and did an amazing job on the album.

“This is Florida death metal at its best!

“We plan on making 2014 a busy year!!!”

“Back From Beyond” track listing:

01. The Ancient Ones
02. As We Wait To Die
03. Ascension Of The Deceased
04. Hunter’s Blood
05. Darkness Fell
06. False Revelation
07. Succumb To Rapture
08. Remnants Of Hatred
09. Shield Of The Son
10. The Evil Within
11. Sands Of Time
12. Beast With Vengeance
13. Back From Beyond
14. Honor The Fallen

The song “As We Wait To Die” can be streamed in the YouTube clip at this location.

MASSACRE released a seven-inch single, “Condemned To The Shadows”, on July 30, 2012. The single, which is available as a regular black-wax version, a transparent wax limited edition and a yellow-wax limited edition, contains two brand new songs — “Succumb To Rapture” and “Back From Beyond” — that were recorded in February 2012 at CGM Studios in Altamonte Springs, Florida with Tim Vazquez at the helm.

Read more at http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/massacre-new-song-as-we-wait-to-die-available-for-streaming/#lkIYXiuAFvLzh7gD.99


EVOCATION Recruits ANATA Drummer

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

Swedish death metallers EVOCATION have announced the addition of drummer Conny Pettersson (ANATA) to the group’s ranks.

Comments Conny: “I’m proud to be the new drummer of EVOCATION and I have much respect for Janne and Vesa and the work they have done this far. Now I’m looking forward to face the challenges we have before us and excited to see what music we can create together!”

A video clip of Conny playing “Weak Aside” by BLOODBATH can be seen atthis location.

EVOCATION recently recruited Simon Exner (AS YOU DROWN) as the band’s new guitarist.

Simon and the other members of AS YOU DROWN have been close friends of EVOCATION since the reunion in 2005 and Simon has also worked for EVOCATION as a member of their crew and a studio engineer.

Commented Exner: “I’ve been a close friend with the band ever since ‘Tales From The Tomb’, following them on shows and also working with them on the tracking of their latest release, ‘Excised And Anatomised’.

“When Marko approached me regarding the open spot as guitarist in EVOCATION, I didn’t hesitate one second. We work great together in the studio and the new tracks written so far for the next album are truly KILLER!”

EVOCATION‘s “Excised And Anatomised” covers EP contained versions of songs that were originally written and recorded by BOLT THROWER, CARCASS, NAPALM DEATH, EDGE OF SANITY and AT THE GATES.

EVOCATION‘s fourth studio album, “Illusions Of Grandeur”, was released in September 2012 via Century Media Records.

Read more at http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/evocation-recruits-anata-drummer/#Iqh2E62oPSE7yvww.99


For more news and updates, head down to http://heavymetaltribune.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: