Heavy Metal News – January 11, 2013

ANTHEM Bassist Diagnosed With Stomach Cancer; Japanese Tour Postponed

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

Veteran Japanese metallers ANTHEM have postponed their previously announced tour after their bassist, Naoto Shibata, was diagnosed with stomach cancer. The band’s next live appearance is now scheduled to take place at the first-ever Ozzfest Japan, which will debut Saturday, May 11 and Sunday, May 12 at the Makuhari Messe Arena, just outside of Tokyo.

Says ANTHEM in a statement: “Please keep up your support and send your message to @anthem_official on Twitter!”

ANTHEM latest single, “Evil One”, was released last September via Universal. The three-song effort included the title cut alongside live studio re-recordings of “Empty Eyes” (from 1987’s “Bound To Break”) and “Shadow Walk” (from 1990’s “No Smoke Without Fire”).

ANTHEM’s fifteenth studio album, “Burning Oath”, came out last October.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Evil One
02. Unbroken Sign
03. Overture
04. On And On
05. Get Away
06. Struggle Action
07. Ghost In The Flame
08. Double Helix
09. Face The Core
10. Life And Crime
11. Dance Alone


DARK TRANQUILLITY: New Album Title, Release Date Announced

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

Swedish melodic death metallers DARK TRANQUILLITY have set “Construct” as the title of their tenth studio album, due on May 27 via Century Media Records. The band will enter the studio soon to record the CD, which will be mixed by Jens Bogren (PARADISE LOST, OPETH, KATATONIA) at his Fascination Street studios in Örebro, Sweden.

Commented the band: “After having played over 200 shows in every corner of the world in support of the ‘We Are The Void’ album, it’s time to focus inwards and lock ourselves up in the studio. Months and months of hard songwriting work has paid off, and the recording sessions will start early this year.”

DARK TRANQUILLITY’s next live appearance is scheduled for April in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Some European summer festivals are already announced and the band is also working on a North American tour for September.

DARK TRANQUILLITY digitally released the “Zero Distance” EP on October 22, 2012 in North America. Taken from the European tour edition of “We Are The Void” (2010), the five tracks on the EP are a must-have for any diehard DARK TRANQUILLITY fan.

DARK TRANQUILLITY’s ninth CD, “We Are The Void”, sold around 2,100 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The effort landed at position No. 15 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.


SUMMONING: New Album Cover Artwork Unveiled

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

Vienna, Austria-based epic/atmospheric black metal act SUMMONING will release its new album, “Old Mornings Dawn”, later this year via Napalm Records. The cover artwork for the effort has now been revealed and can be seen below.

SUMMONING’s eighth album, “Oath Bound”, was released in March 2006 via Napalm.

The band was formed in 1993 by Silenius (Michael Gregor), Protector (Richard Lederer) and Trifixion (Alexander Trondl).


HATRIOT: Audio Samples Of Entire Debut Album

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

HATRIOT, the new San Francisco Bay Area thrash metal band led by former EXODUS and LEGACY (pre-TESTAMENT) frontman Steve “Zetro” Souza, will release its debut album, “Heroes Of Origin” on January 25 via Germany’s Massacre Records. The CD was recorded with producer Juan Urteaga (MACHINE HEAD, EXODUS, TESTAMENT) and features guest appearances BY TESTAMENT ‘s Chuck Billy and MACHINE HEAD ‘s Phil Demmel . The cover artwork, which can be seen below, was created by Mark DeVito, who has previously worked with MOTÖRHEAD and ANVIL CHORUS, among others.

“Heroes Of Origin” track listing:

01. Suicide Run
02. Weapons Of Class Destruction
03. Murder American Style
04. Blood Stained Wings
05. The Violent Time Of My Dark Passenger
06. Globicidal
07. And Your Children To Be Damned
08. The Mechanics Of Annihilation
09. Shadows Of The Buried
10. Heroes Of Origin

Check out audio samples of the entire album at Amazon.com.



Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

Dutch thrashers LEGION OF THE DAMNED have inked a worldwide deal with Napalm Records.

Commented the band: “We are absolutely thrilled to announce LEGION OF THE DAMNED has signed a deal with Napalm Records, a very important and exciting moment for LEGION OF THE DAMNED.

“It was certainly not an easy decision to leave our friends of Massacre Records who supported us since our first album. We always got along very well, and therefore we want to thank the crew of Massacre Records enormously for their big support! It’s time for LEGION OF THE DAMNED to move on and seek other challenges.

“We are very happy with the excitement Napalm Records has shown in our band and we can’t wait to release our new album under their wings!”

LEGION OF THE DAMNED recently announced the addition of session guitarist Hein Willekens to the group’s ranks.

The band’s latest album, “Descent Into Chaos”, was released in January 2011 via Massacre Records. The CD was recorded at Abyss Studios in Pärlby, Sweden with producer and PAIN/HYPOCRISY mainman Peter Tägtgren, who also makes a guest appearance on the limited-edition bonus track “Legion Of The Damned”.


Maurice Swinkels – Vocals
Twan van Geel – Guitar
Harold Gielen – Bass
Erik Fleuren – Drums
Hein Willekens – Guitar



Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

Colombian death/black metal assassins NEPENTE have inked a deal with Singapore-based independent record label Sonic Blast Media for the worldwide release on the band’s sophomore album, “Suffering Is The Seed”.

Previously available through the band, the CD will be unleashed though Sonic Blast on February 15. The vinyl version of “Suffering Is The Seed” will come later this year courtesy of badGod Music.

Sonic Blast Media’s Imran Manoff commented, “We are very pleased to have NEPENTE join our ever-growing Sonic Blast Media family. ‘Suffering Is The Seed’ is an extraordinary album which borders on death/ black metal and at times grindcore; and I am sure the fans will enjoy it!.”

“Suffering Is The Seed” was mixed and mastered at Poland’s Hertz Studio (VADER, HATE, BEHEMOTH, DECAPITATED).


José F. Ospina (vocals)
Mauricio Aristizábal (drums)
Esteban Daza (guitar)
Wilmar Correa (bass)
Pablo Vaquez (guitar)


DEVOURMENT Vomits Forth Lyric Video

Today Relapse Records delivers a brutal blow with the first full track from Conceived In Sewage, the pending fourth LP from gorestrewn death metal mongers, DEVOURMENT. The rabid new lyric video was cut-up for the album’s second track, “50 Ton War Machine,” the loving anthem boasting peaceful imagery, such as “Corpses burning, cities falling, the tide is turning, shadow consumes” and “rise, of the once forsaken, from the depths where souls are taken.”

Be prepared to read with speed indeed, and get gory with DEVOURMENT’s “50 Ton War Machine” here:


For more news and updates, head down to http://heavymetaltribune.tumblr.com/


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: