Heavy Metal News – July 17, 2013

DREAM THEATER Singer JAMES LABRIE: ‘Back On The Ground’ Lyric Video Released

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

The official lyric video for the song “Back On The Ground” from DREAM THEATER frontman James LaBrie’s new solo album, “Impermanent Resonance”, can be seen at this location.

“Impermanent Resonance” will be released on August 6 in North America and July 29 in Europe via InsideOut Music. In addition to the standard CD and the digital download format, the effort will be made available in Europe as a limited-edition digipak featuring alternate artwork and two bonus tracks (“Unraveling” and “Why”), as well as on limited LP version (with the full album as bonus CD).

The previous LaBrie album, “Static Impulse” from 2010, will be released for the first time as LP (with the full album as bonus CD) on the same street date as that of the new album. Both LPs will be available on 180-gram black vinyl but also on strictly limited clear vinyl (limited to only 200 copies each).

The follow-up to 2010’s “Static Impulse”“Impermanent Resonance”was once again conceived with LaBrie’s songwriting partner for over a dozen years, Matt GuilloryGuillory not only took the leading role in composing the material, he also handled all of the keyboards and background vocals.

The album’s lineup is intact from the previous recording, featuring Marco Sfogli from Italy on guitar, Ray Riendeau (HALFORDMACHINES OF LOVING GRACE) on bass and Swedish drummer Peter Wildoer(DARKANEMAJESTIC), who was a finalist in the DREAM THEATERdrum auditions. Additionally, former SOILWORK guitarist Peter Wicherscame into the fold to contribute songwriting and studio guitars.

“To me, this album incorporates and continues with the styles and musical direction that we have created with the previous releases,” saysJames LaBrie. “The difference being that the music on this disc is to me a true telling of the songs evolving and taking on a sense of identity that is every band’s ultimate goal. It is powerful, memorable, hook-driven and above all extremely musical. It shows how the writing and the band itself have matured. I truly feel that this is our quintessential album.”

“Impermanent Resonance” was once again mixed and mastered at Sweden’s Fascination Street recording studios (KREATOROPETH,PARADISE LOSTSYMPHONY X) with Jens Bogren and this time alsoTony Lindgren. Visually, Canadian LaBrie hooked up with Gustavo Sazes (ARCH ENEMYFIREWINDKAMELOT) to capture and translate the album’s atmosphere into the striking artwork.

“Impermanent Resonance” track listing:

01. Agony
02. Undertow
03. Slight Of Hand
04. Back On The Ground
05. I Got You
06. Holding On
07. Lost In The Fire
08. Letting Go
09. Destined To Burn
10. Say You’re Still Mine
11. Amnesia
12. I Will Not Break

Video footage of Wildoer laying down the drum trcks for “Impermanent Resonance” can now be seen below.

“Impermanent Resonance” recording lineup:

James LaBrie – Lead Vocals
Matt Guillory – Keyboards, Background Vocals
Marco Sfogli – Guitars
Ray Riendeau – Bass
Peter Wildoer – Drums, Screams

“Static Impulse” sold around 1,700 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 14 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Static Impulse” was released on September 28, 2010 (one day earlier internationally) via InsideOut Music. The CD was LaBrie’s first solo effort in over five years.


CARCASS: New Song ‘Captive Bolt Pistol’ Available For Streaming

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

“Captive Bolt Pistol”, a brand new song from reactivated British extreme metal pioneers CARCASS, can be streamed in the YouTube clip at this location. The track is also available for free download using the widget at this location (e-mail sign-up required).

“Captive Bolt Pistol” comes off CARCASS’ comeback album, “Surgical Steel”, which will be released on September 16 in the U.K., September 13 in the rest of Europe and September 17 in North America via Nuclear Blast Records. The effort was produced by Colin Richardson (FEAR FACTORYMACHINE HEADNAPALM DEATHSLIPKNOTBULLET FOR MY VALENTINE) and mixed by Andy Sneap (MEGADETHACCEPT,EXODUSARCH ENEMY).

Joining guitarist Bill Steer and bassist/vocalist Jeff Walker in CARCASS’ current incarnation are new drummer Dan Wilding (ABORTED,TRIGGER THE BLOODSHED) and guitarist Ben Ash (PIG IRON,DESOLATIONLIQUEFIED SKELETON).

CARCASS’ first studio LP since 1996’s “Swansong” will feature guest vocals from original sticksman Ken Owen.


EXUMER Parts Ways With Guitarist

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

German thrashers EXUMER have parted ways with guitarist H.K. The musician played his last show with the band at the Bang Your Head!!!festival in Germany on July 13. The guitarist’s departure has been an amicable one and he is said to have left the group for solely personal reasons.

Comments EXUMER vocalist Mem V. Stein: “We were sad to let H.K. go after touring with him for the past three years and recording our comeback album in 2011. However, the thrashing must go on and we already have found a session guitarists who will accompany us to South and North America for our upcoming tour dates there. We will try our best to fulfill all our touring obligations and find a permanent second guitarist as soon as possible to ensure a band chemistry that will takeEXUMER to the next level.”

EXUMER’s latest album, “Fire & Damnation”, was released in April 2012 via Metal Blade Records. The 10-track CD, which was recorded with renowned producer Waldemar Sorychta (GRIP INC.THERION,SODOMMOONSPELL), “combines a punishing production with aggressive songwriting,” according to a press release. “EXUMERmanages to capture the intensity and feel of the 1980s thrash metal gems and yet sound up to date on their latest output.”

Formed in 1985 by Mem V. Stein and guitarist Ray MenshEXUMERwent on to release two albums (1986’s “Possessed By Fire” and 1987’s“Rising From The Sea”) that are regarded as some of the most cult thrash metal releases ever to come out of Germany. EXUMER was also one of the first thrash metal acts to capture exotic, foreign markets like Poland and Brazil, where their albums were domestically released in the 1980s. The subsequent tours that followed those releases secured the band live shows in front of thousands of fans and an unusually large following outside of Germany.

Plagued by lineup changes and internal turmoil, the band broke up in 1990, and did not perform live, with the exception of 2001 appearance at the prestigious Wacken Open Air festival, until 2009.

imagePhilip H. Anselmo and The Illegals stream full album

Legendary vocalist PHILIP H. ANSELMO and his backing band, THE ILLEGALS, are streaming the singer’s long-awaited solo debut album ‘Walk Through Exits Only’ in its entirety with the following official partners:

VPRO (Benelux)

Soundi (Finland)

VS Webzine (France)

Visions (Germany)

Pyro (Norway)

Musick Magazine (Poland)

Metal Hammer (UK)

‘Walk Through Exits Only’ was recorded by Steven Berrigan (DOWN) and mastered by Scott Hull (PIG DESTROYER, NILE, GODFLESH).

The album will be released by Season of Mist on July 19th in partnership with Philip H. Anselmo’s own Housecore Records and is available in digipak CD format, as well as three separate vinyl colours including a grey with red haze LP which limited to 150 copies and available exclusively on the Season of Mist e-shop.


For more news and updates, head down to http://heavymetaltribune.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: