Heavy Metal News – October 31, 2013

MORBID ANGEL’s ‘Covenant’: Full Dynamic Range Vinyl Preview (Video)

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

“Covenant”, the classic album from Floridian death metal legends MORBID ANGEL, is due to be reissued in Europe on limited edition Full Dynamic Range vinyl LP to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the LP’s release.

Originally issued in 1993, “Covenant” is the band’s third album and has been specially remastered from the original tapes in Full Dynamic Range (FDR) audio, allowing the music’s nuances to shine through and giving the album a more ferocious, immersive and dynamic sound than ever before.

MORBID ANGEL vocalist/bassist David Vincent comments: “‘Covenant’ was and still remains a very important release in our career.

“We are all excited to revisit this album in celebration of its 20th anniversary, both on stage and on wax.

“For purists and vinyl aficionados alike, this new full dynamic master pressing is sure to illuminate the analog sonic fury that we captured in 1993.”

The vinyl will be available in the following quantities and colours:

100 – Green (Earache Webstore exclusive) **
200 – Clear (Earache Webstore exclusive) **
200 – Dark Blue with Light Blue Splatter *
300 – Clear with Black Marble *
300 – White with Black Splatter **
400 – Clear with Red Marble **
1400 – Black *

* includes free sticker
** includes free sticker and slipmat

The “Covenant” Full Dynamic Range vinyl is due to be released on November 4 through the Earache European webstore, and will also be available in limited quantities directly from the band on the band’s “Covenant” 20th-anniversary U.S. tour.

The vinyl will be available for pre-order on Friday, October 18 from the Earache webstore at this location.

The first look at the Full Dynamic Range edition of “Covenant” — which will also be released in Europe on iTunes on November 4 — can be seen at this location.

Read more at http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/morbid-angels-covenant-full-dynamic-range-vinyl-preview-video/#yMAfDZc8LQQwMlWp.99


GHOUL/CANNABIS CORPSE To Release Splatterhash Split 12″ Via Tankcrimes This January

This January, unearthly splatterthrash and weedian death metal will unite in an unholy matrimony of sonic decay as GHOUL and CANNABIS CORPSE unleash a split 12” fittingly dubbed Splatterhash.

Featuring four tracks of rabid, brutalic insanity, the Splatterhash 12” will be unleashed via Tankcrimes January 7, 2014 on CD and digital download. For their portion of the split,GHOUL returned to Earhammer Studios in Oakland, California where they recorded bothTransmission Zero and Splatterthrash. CANNABIS CORPSE recorded at bassist/vocalist Land Phil’s own Blaze of Torment Studios in Richmond, Virginia. The whole rollicking shebang was mastered by Dan Randall at Mammoth Sound and Santa Cruz, California and features cover art by Andrei Bouzikov (Municipal Waste, Skeletonwitch, Toxic Holocaust). The release marks the first CANNABIS CORPSE material to feature Land Phil on vocals and Brent Purgason (Pustulus Maximus of Gwar) on lead guitar.

The masked legion known as GHOUL – Cremator, Fermentor, Digestor, and Dissector – are mutants from Creepsylvania specializing in the execution of bone-snapping splatterthrash, grave robbing, flesh devourment and a variety of gory night time rituals. The band will bring their audio indecency to the stage Halloween night opening for the mighty Danzig in San Francisco. Additionally, GHOUL will co-headline the first annual Black Sky gala founded by Skinless’ Sherwood Webber. Denver Black Sky will be held on December 14th, 2013 and features a absurdly sick lineup of: Dying Fetus, Exhumed, Speedwolf, Power Trip, Mammoth Grinder, Call Of The Void, Reproacher, Weekend Nachos, Iron Reagan, Axeslasher, Primitive Man, Vimana, Of Feather And Bone, Native Daughters, Black Sleep Of Kali, Dead Temple and Flight Of Sleipnir.

CANNABIS CORPSE,who recently joined the Season Of Mist roster, is a marijuana-themed death metal assault from Richmond, Virginia. Featuring members of Municipal Waste and Gwar, CANNABIS CORPSE pride themselves in their exceptional knowledge of good green, face raping riffs and death metal parodies. Future live ceremonials from both bands to be announced in the months to come.

Splatterhash Split 12″ Track Listing:
1. The Inhalation Plague (CANNABIS CORPSE)
2. Shatter Their Bongs (CANNABIS CORPSE)
3. Inner Sanctum (GHOUL)
4. Spill Your Guts (GHOUL)

GHOUL Live Rituals:
10/31/2013 The Warfield – San Francisco, CA w/Danzig, Butcher Babies, A Pale Horse Named Death
12/14/2013 Denver Black Sky @ The Gothic Theatre – Denver, CO [tickets]

Both bands’ entire catalogs can be streamed (and purchased) via the official Tankcrimes BandCamp Page HERE.

Tankcrimes will unveil teaser tracks and preorders for the Splatterhash Split 12″ in the coming days. Until then, hail, crush, kill, repeat.


For more news and updates, head down to http://heavymetaltribune.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: