Heavy Metal News – January 23, 2013


Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

Tampa, Florida’s THE ABSENCE has announced the addition of guitarist Per Nilsson (SCAR SYMMETRY) to the group’s ranks. The band has entered the studio with guitarist-turned-producer James Murphy (TESTAMENT, DEATH, OBITUARY) to begin recording a new EP and will release a single from these sessions soon.

Commented Per: “Six years ago, [THE ABSENCE] guys asked me to do a guest solo for the ‘Riders’ album and we’ve been friends ever since. I’ve followed their career as a fan and when they reached out asking me to join the band, it was a no-brainer.

“I am super excited to be a part of THE ABSENCE family. We’ve been jamming out some new tunes and I feel like we’ve got some killer stuff in the works for ya! Between Patrick and me, there’s gonna be some INSANE guitar-shreddin’ on the new tunes!”

THE ABSENCE 2013 is:

Jamie Stewart: Vocals
Patrick Pintavalle: Guitar
Per Nilsson: Guitar
Jeramie Kling: Drums
Mike Leon: Bass

THE ABSENCE’s third album, “Enemy Unbound”, sold around 800 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 55 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Enemy Unbound” was released on September 14, 2010 via Metal Blade Records. The CD was once again recorded at the Erik Rutan-owned Mana Recording Studios in St. Petersburg, Florida in November 2009, with Brian Elliott engineering and Peter Joseph and Patrick Pintavalle producing. Going along with the saying “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it,” the band tapped Jonas Kjellgren (SCAR SYMMETRY, CARNAL FORGE) of Black Lounge Studios in Sweden to handle both mixing and mastering on “Enemy Unbound”. Guest musicians on the CD include Tom Englund of EVERGREY and Andy Wood.


SODOM: New Album Title Revealed

Reposted from Blabbermouth.net

German thrash metal veterans SODOM have set “Epitome Of Torture” as the titlte of their new album, set for May 7 release (April 29 in Europe) via SPV/Steamhammer. The band recorded 12 songs with producer Waldemar Sorychta (GRIP INC., ENEMY OF THE SUN). The effort will be available in four editions: as a jewel case release, in a digipak including additional bonus material on double gatefold LP with colored vinyl and download.

SODOM’s latest CD, “In War And Pieces”, entered the German Media Control chart at position No. 64.

SODOM in 2010 parted ways with drummer Bobby Schottkowski due to “personal and private problems between Tom and Bobby,” according to a statement released by the band.

SODOM’s current drummer, Markus Freiwald, previously played for the German bands DESPAIR and FLAMING ANGER and was involved with the VOODOOCULT project. In addition, he played percussion as a session musician on the MOONSPELL album “Irreligious” and is featured on the 1996 LP “Triarchy Of The Lost Lovers” by Greek extreme metallers ROTTING CHRIST.


COFFINS: Japan’s Doom Eradicators Initiate Recording Of New LP For Relapse

Having raided the death/doom underworld since 1996, Tokyo, Japan’s brutal doom metal eradicators COFFINS have once again entered their local Noise Room Studio, and are currently laying down vocals for their anticipated new LP, The Fleshland.

Although COFFINS seemingly always have a new release out — with a plethora of splits, EP’s, singles and a recent track released as part of Decibel Magazine’s Flexi Series having been released in the past few years alone — the band’s upcoming fourth album The Fleshland will be the first new full-length from the outfit since their devastating and acclaimed Buried Death album, released via 20 Buck Spin in 2008. Their first official release for Relapse Records, COFFINS will wrap-up their cavernous studio work on The Fleshland by the end of January, the album set for release later this year.

For now, ravenous fans of COFFINS’ brutal arts can get a bit of insight into the new album’s cacophony with a pre-production demo track of “Colossal Hole” — which will reappear on The Fleshland in its finished state — via Cvlt NationRIGHT HERE.

Stay tuned for more info on the new album as well as 2013 live actions for COFFINS to be released in the coming weeks.


VREID: Norwegian Black ‘N’ Roll Legion Release New Single

Today Norwegian black ‘n’ roll legion VREID release new single “The Way Of The Serpent” from their forthcoming new full-length, Welcome Farewell. Cold and compelling, the follow-up to 2011’s Norwegian Grammy-nominated album V, which Decibel Magazine called, “…VREID’s finest hour,” was recorded at bassist Hváll’s own Studio 1184 and is set for North American release via Indie Recordings March 5, 2013.

Described by Metal Hammer UK as a “unique time-travel in metal,” commending their merge of ‘70s rock, ‘80s classic metal and Norwegian black metal, with the eight-track Welcome Farewell VREID again add a new twist to their already difficult-to-pinpoint sound. Comments Hváll of the new material, “It’s been a lot of work, but we are utterly pleased with the result. ‘Dark,’ ‘heavy’ and ‘VREID’ are the three keywords to describe it.”

Feast your ears on “The Way Of The Serpent” at THIS LOCATION.

And if you missed it, sample “The Reap” courtesy of the metal tyrants at Terrorizer HERE!

Welcome Farewell Track Listing:

1. The Ramble
2. The Way Of The Serpent
3. The Devil’s Hand
4. Welcome Farewell
5. The Reap
6. Sights of Old
7. Black Waves
8. At The Brook


For more news and updates, head down to http://heavymetaltribune.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: